The Foundation

Message From the President Of The 
Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Foundation


The Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Foundation, in partnership with the Nassau, Bahamas Pan-Hellenic Council, is indeed excited to have this opportunity to sponsor this 22nd National Recognition for primary school students. When I presented this idea to the Council in 1996, I never imagined the impact that this Awards Program would have on this country. Since 1997, we have inspired more than 2,300 of the nation’s BEST and BRIGHTEST primary school students and presented over $1.3 Million Dollars in scholarships and prizes.

We are truly grateful to the Corporate, Fraternal, Civic and Individual Donors who over the past 21 years have partnered with us to recognize these students. Thank you for making a difference in the lives of OUR FUTURE.

This year, 121 students representing Abaco, Acklins, Andros, Bimini, Cat Island, Crooked Island, Eleuthera, Exuma, Grand Bahama, Inagua, Long Island, Mayaguana, New Providence and San Salvador will compete for over $200,000.00 in scholarships and prizes. Despite this being another challenging period, we acknowledge that OUR GOD and OUR FAITH have taught us that ALL THINGS work together for them that love the Lord. I am excited to advise that for the first time in the history of this awards program, every single nominee will receive a minimum of a $1,000.00 scholarship.

Organizing this Awards Program, truly is a “Labour of Love”, with NO PAID STAFF and a DEDICATED Volunteer Team comprising of our Patrons, Chairman and Members of The Board of Directors; Awards Committee Members and Program Assistants, I believe that we each realize that our purpose is to improve a generation. We are committed to the core values of this Awards Program because we realize that…”In 100 years, It will NOT matter the type of house we lived in, car we drove or even the clothes we wore but THIS WORLD would be better because we “MADE A DIFFERENCE IN THE LIFE OF A CHILD”.

I would like to take this opportunity to offer our greatest appreciation to Her Excellency Dame Marguerite Pindling – Governor-General of The Commonwealth of The Bahamas, Our Prime Minister, Dr. Hon. Hubert A. Minnis, M.P and Our Minister of Education, Hon. Jefferey Lloyd, M.P, for the support that they have given to this Awards Program. To Mrs. Autherine Turnquest-Hanna, Chairperson, Mr. Philip Stubbs, CA, Chief Tally Judge and Members of the Distinguished Panel of Judges, who unselfishly give of their time to review the portfolios of these outstanding nominees and have the difficult tasks of selecting the BEST from among the BEST in the nation.

Thank you for all that you have done to maintain the highest standards of this Awards Program.
When we look at the nominees in this Awards Program, we know that they are here because they have an excellent support system of dedicated parents, family members, principals and teachers, who continue to push them to achieve their very best. As this end this chapter, I would like to encourage you to continue to be there for them. They will need your continued support, guidance and love.

Finally, To the 2018 Nominees… “YOU ARE ALL WINNERS” regardless of what happens in this Awards Program, you represented the BEST of your school, your district, your Island and you should be proud. Your nomination in this program demonstrated that at this early age, you are committed to your academics, your community and you are indeed, a leader. I encourage you to leave this Awards with an even greater passion for EXCELLENCE.

You are indeed a shining star!!!! Good Luck and Go Forth and make us ALL PROUD.


Ricardo P. Deveaux
President & CEO

Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Foundation


























































































© Copyright 2016 Bahamas Primary School Student of The Year Foundation